Tags

, , , , , , ,

Let the Anna Karenina cramming begin!

Now that the holidays are getting closer, tons of exciting movies are coming out, including a couple of major, high-budget literary adaptions.  The first to come out (I think it was today, actually) is Anna Karenina starring Keira Knightley.  My brave friend Katy read the entire novel a couple of years ago and struggled with it.  Ah, Russian literature.  I am dying to see the movie but I have a personal rule that I have to read the book first.  This rule began when I attempted to read Fellowship of the Ring after seeing the movie and found the book so slow-moving in comparison that I just couldn’t finish.  It was tragic, so I won’t make that mistake again.  The only thing is, since the movie is now out and I have been distracted by a behemoth work of another author (*ahem* Stephen King), I have very little time.  I did a bunch of Googling and it seems that the average answer to how long a movie is in theaters is 6-7 weeks.  To be safe, I am going to try to read this 800 page book in 5 weeks.  I think I can do it.  I will need to seriously resist my tendency to read 3 books at once.  Isn’t my copy gorgeous, by the way?  Barnes and Noble classic!!  I’ll keep you all updated on how my crazy challenge is going.

I am also excited for The Hobbit, which comes out soon and will star my favorite literary adaption duo – Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch, who play Watson and Sherlock, respectively, in the BBC’s Sherlock.  In The Hobbit, Martin Freeman is Bilbo (now every time I watch Sherlock, all I can think is that Freeman was born to play a hobbit) and Benedict Cumberbatch is the voice of the dragon – casting perfection.  I have a lovely illustrated copy of The Hobbit that I am looking forward to reading after the Tolstoy madness is over.

Then, there is Life of Pi.  Both my brother and sister had to read it for high school English classes.  We didn’t have it in the curriculum when I was in high school, which makes me feel old.  Anyways, they didn’t particularly like the book, but this could be due to the fact that neither of them is much of a reader (I got all of the literary genes – they got math and science skills) and that books are never quite as enjoyable when you have to read it and discuss it for a class.  I gather from my brother that the book has a shocking and disturbing twist at the end, which sounds right up my alley.  If you have read it, no spoilers please!

